December 21, 2011

Dim sum @ Brilliant Chinese Restaurant

I've been really slacking off with blogging lately. It's the holidays, after all! But anyhow, here is a quick post on a recent dim sum meal at Brilliant Chinese Restaurant, near Market Village. No early bird dim sum here, so the atmosphere was a lot more relaxed and less rushed.
Deep fried savoury dumpling had so little colour on them that I questioned whether they've been deep fried properly. Luckily, these tasted better than they looked.
Deep fried taro dumpling arrived cold at the table. We complained and they gave us a second batch, which was even colder than the first. In the end, we just cancelled our order and chose something else. At least the staff was pretty gracious about that.
My favourite dish of the day was the Korean style BBQ beef. I loved the bright and bold flavours, and the meat had just the right amount of fat.
I generally stay away from Chiu Chow style steamed dumplings  because they usually contain celery, which I detest. These ones didn't have celery, so I actually liked them a lot. The peanuts provided a pleasant crunch.
Steamed rice noodle roll with fried fritter dough was also pretty good, even though it wasn't an extremely refined version.
Steamed sponge cake was super light and moist. It was the perfect antidote to all that deep fried food.
But of course, we followed that light dish with deep fried sesame cake. I loved the chewy pastry shell!
I don't have much to say about the bean curd pudding, since I didn't eat much of it. I did like how it wasn't overly sweet.
I also ordered a beef chow fun to go for my boyfriend, and it was huge! This could easily feed 3-4 hungry people! For $8, it was definitely great value. In summary, there were a couple of hits and misses with this restaurant, but I enjoyed my overall experience.
The Brilliant Chinese Restaurant on Urbanspoon

8 comments:

  1. For me, this is just your average Dim Sum places with a higher price. I hate the fact that restaurant do not accept credit like this one. It is hard to bring hundreds of dollars in your vallet when you are hosting a small group of guests. So I really don't need to patronize them.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This is definitely not one of my favourite places for dim sum, but I thought the quality of the food was decent.

      Delete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...