November 6, 2011

Lunch & Desserts @ Arepa Café

It has been a long while since I've been to Arepa Café for an actual meal. Because there was a 45 minute wait at Shanghai Cowgirl, we decided to come here instead. I'm quite fond of these grilled cornmeal sandwiches for its dense, crumbly texture. The arepa of the day was ham and cheese, which came stuffed with an incredible amount of shredded cheddar. I would prefer all of the cheese to be melted, but the combination was delicious nevertheless.
My boyfriend ordered a raw brown sugar cane lemonade, which tasted more like ice tea to me. However, you can definitely taste the sugar cane, but I wished that the lemon came through more.
The arepas come with three types of sauce: garlic mayo, green pepper sauce and hot sauce (pictured here behind the ham and cheese arepa). All three were tasty, so I tried my best to not pour the entire bottle into my arepa. The hot sauce, however, was spectacularly spicy! I'm normally quite tolerant with spicy food, after a few generous squeeze, I was in tears! Now that is what I call spicy! That said, it was really tasty, but next time I'll be more light handed with the hot sauce. My boyfriend particularly favoured the garlic mayo and he slathered it all over the sandwich between his bites. 
I was torn between adobo roasted pork that I had the first time and la llanera with beef tenderloin, avocado, fresco cheese and tomato. I decided to try something new, so I went with the beef option. The meat was nicely charred and tender, and I loved the combination of the creamy avocado and fresco cheese. I wished that the filling was distributed more evenly within the sandwich. By the time I got to the bottom, all the avocado and beef were gone, and I was left with only cheese and sauce (which was still delicious).
After I tried the dulce de leche cheesecake a few weeks ago, I couldn't stop thinking about it. So of course I had to buy another slice! I am declaring this my favourite cheesecake in the city so far!
A week later, I returned with a couple of friends for sweets again. This time, I was disappointed with my alfajor. I love the alfajore cookies from Aroma Espresso Bar, but this one was less satisfying. There was too much icing sugar, and I had to shake half of it off. For some reason, I couldn't really taste the dulce de leche in the cookie.
My foodie friend Mel couldn't resist the pumpkin cheesecake (she never can). I mooched off a few bites, and it was delicious- very creamy and smooth. It reminded me of the pumpkin cheesecake I had a year ago at Bier Markt. However, the portion was a little small for the price (around $5). In comparison, the dulce de leche cheesecake definitely has better value. All in all, I really love this place- the vibe, the people, the food. If I lived near Arepa Café, I'd be coming here at least once a week!
Arepa Cafe on Urbanspoon

7 comments:

  1. Those arepas look delicious! I've walked by here so many times and never knew that arepas were an actual type of food. Always thought it was just a cool name for a cafe lol. I'll definitely have to add this to my list.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow, all of this looks amazing! I haven't even tried Shanghai Cowgirl yet. Thanks for sharing :)

    -Ingrid
    http://sillyhungry.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. I gotta get myself the curvy queen again and stop always coming here for desserts! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...