November 14, 2011

Dinner @ F'Amelia

I love Italian food. I really do. F'Amelia has been on my radar to try ever since their September opening, partly because the restaurant is very active on twitter (I succumb to the influence of social media!). So I was more than happy to trek down to Cabbagetown when my friend Mel expressed interest in trying out their pumpkin menu items (there was a pasta and a dessert). Honestly, I don't even think I love pumpkin that much, but Mel has brainwashed me into thinking that I do. And of course, free parking around the neighbourhood is always a bonus! On a side note, I really need to practice my parallel parking...
The decor was rustic and charming, reminicsent of a cozy traditional Italian kitchen. The house isn't that big, but these windows help open up the space. Unlike my experience at Corner House (I could barely pull out my chair to sit down), I never felt cramped here. I would love to dine here during the day, when sunlight can flood into the room. Unfortunately, the looming winter means that it's already pitch dark outside at 5 pm. I'll be sure to come back in the summer next time.
We started off with two kinds of bread, served with olive oil. We all particularly loved the flatbread, which was reminiscent of pizza dough. Lucky that the bread was not served individually and not by the basket. Otherwise I would've eaten a lot more of it.
Mel and I shared a glass of Malivoire, and although I'm no wine connoisseur, I really enjoyed it. I never had a habit of having wine with my meals, but that idea is growing on me (to the expense of my wallet).  
One of the items that we came for was the pumpkin gnocchi with brown butter and sage, topped with amaretti crumble. The gnocchi had a really nice texture- soft and pillowy, just the way I like it. I could definitely taste the pumpkin, but I would've liked a little more of it. What I found strange was the sweetness of the dish. I expected a savoury pasta, but instead, the flavour combination was closer to the dessert end, particularly with the addition of amaretti crumble. I normally love the combination of sweet and savoury, but for me, there wasn't enough salt to counterbalance the sweetness. However, the dish was undoubtedly unique, and I don't regret my choice.
The other pasta that we shared was the crespelle stuffed with prosciutto, 1608 cheese and spinach. This was my favourite of the night! Crespelle are the Italian version of crepes, so I was a little bit perplexed by the presentation. It didn't really match my search results from google images. However, I ended up really loving this!  
The pasta was so soft that it seemingly fused with the cheese. The whole time, I felt like I was eating ham and spinach au gratin. The cheese was rich, creamy and absolutely delicious! Although I burned my tongue eating the first bite, I couldn't stop myself from forking more of it into my mouth. The portion looks small, but the abundance of cheese made it very filling.  
We bullied our other friend James into ordering a pizza, and he went with our server's recommendation- Di Parma with fior di latte, tomato sauce, prosciutto di Parma D.O.P., and extra virgin olive oil. I had a small slice and enjoyed it. The crust was very thin, which I liked.
Luckily, our bullying ended with good results and James devoured his pizza happily.
After all the food was cleared away, it was dessert time! Mel and I shared a brûlée pumpkin tart with lavender chantilly cream. I found the lavendar bizarre and interesting, but luckily, it was quite subtle and not overwhelming. I wasn't overly impressed with the tart because the pastry was too thick and dry. With tarts, I really prefer the rustic ones that are more gooey and buttery.
F'Amelia offers a foursquare sign-in special in which you can get your second dessert 50% off. With that in mind, we coerced James into ordering a dessert as well (we're just wonderful friends!). He went with a more innovative dessert- wood oven baked apple and cinnamon pizza with vanilla ice cream. I love the concept of a dessert pizza, even though I didn't love the actual execution. There was just too much dough, and I'm not sure I want to be eating more carbs for dessert after indulging in a meal of bread, pasta and pizza. I also found it to be a little dry overall. Maybe adding more of that delicious vanilla ice cream would have helped.
A word of warning: this dessert pizza is huge! I definitely recommend sharing this between at least 4 people if you don't want to be stuffed. Despite the slightly disappointing desserts, I quite enjoyed our meal as a whole at F'Amelia. The menu changes seasonally, so I would definitely come back and try other items in the future. All in all, it's a great place for a cozy, heartwarming meal.
F'Amelia on Urbanspoon

10 comments:

  1. Brainwash you?! You know you love pumpkin!!! Ah haha, James looks like a kid in the last picture. Btw, don't know if you remember but we got the Gamay (just for future references in case we ever need to loiter at LCBO and decide to buy wine). ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Looks delicious! I'll have to head to Cabbagetown soon.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I had a similar experience with pumpkin pasta - it was too sweet for my liking. I love restaurants that use Foursquare deals though, it's hard to find them in Toronto.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Nice review! And oh, that crespelle looks like something I'd really enjoy! I've never heard of it though, but looks like lasagna.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks so much for joining us and this wonderful blog : ) Ciao! ~ F'Amelia

    ReplyDelete
  6. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...