November 22, 2011

Dinner @ Asian Legend

My family came to Asian Legend to celebrate my mom's birthday. I generally love their dim sum here, but this time, we opted for more "dinner-like" dish. We started with Shanghai specialty casserole stew, which we all enjoyed. The broth was super flavourful and I had tons of veggies with it. The stew definitely made me feel as if my meal was going to be healthy!
The next dish - house special crispy chicken - was tasty, albeit a little generic. I deliberately did not order my favourite General Tao chicken because I know I wouldn't be able to stop eating that. After all, roasted chicken with crispy skin almost always taste good. This version was executed well, but it didn't have any wow factor. It was, nevertheless, a whole lot more enjoyable than the following dish...
Wuxi style spare ribs was awful! I won't lie, I ordered this because I was eyeing that bed of veggies. The veggies were great, but the spare ribs were terrible!  I expected a rich sauce to complement the meat, but this was anything but. The sauce was so bland and artificial-looking. It tasted like bad Chinese food that you get at food court stall catered to people who aren't familiar with Asian flavours. I actually really regretted finishing the one piece that I tried. We left more than half of it uneaten. I was shocked that Asian Legend could serve something so appallingly bad because I've never had anything here that was this terrible before.
Luckily, the final dish redeemed my dining experience- fish fillet in hot chili sauce. The fish was tender, and the chili sauce was yummy and comforting. My stomach tingled pleasantly from the heat, and which was wonderful for the cold weather. The spices and the flavours were incredible, and the heat was perfect for those with a spicy tongue (but it's not intolerably spicy by any means).
We ended the meal with complimentary red bean soup, which was a little watered down. All in all, I thought that the meal was slightly disappointing. Even though the casserole stew and fish fillet in chili sauce were delicious, the Wuxi-style spare ribs was a major let-down. I think that I enjoy their dim sum here more than anything else, and a meal here just feels incomplete without ordering some.
Asian Legend 味香村 on Urbanspoon

11 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. for beginners like me need a lot of reading and searching for information on various blogs. and articles that you share a very nice and inspires me .
    cara menggugurkan kandungan
    obat aborsi
    kalkulator kehamilan

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...