October 29, 2011

Dim sum @ Casa Victoria

At this point, I think I've established that I'm crazy over dim sum. Casa Victoria is another pricier dim sum restaurant, but well worth it (in my opinion). Luckily, I was here with my mom, which compelled me to be more cost-conscious while ordering (which means I try to stick to S or M items). I also had the sense to make a reservation, so we didn't have to wait long for a seat.
I reluctantly ordered the super jumbo har gow dumpling to take home for my boyfriend. I say reluctant because har gow here is an XL item, and costs a whopping $6.90. It was the most expensive item of my meal. The dumplings themselves were certainly not jumbo in size, but I guess the shrimp inside was. I ate a piece, and it was tasty, but not worth $6.90 in my opinion.
In contrast, my order of rice noodle rolls in XO sauce was way larger in portion, and it was actually cheaper than the har gow ($6.50). The XO sauce was delectable!
Deep fried taro dumpling- a thin layer of mashed taro encasing rich, meaty filling- was another small item, to my delight. It was another excellent execution. 

I really like 鹹水角in general, but almost never get it when I go for fixed price dim sum because it's always a small item. Finally, I don't feel the need to maximize the value of my order. Casa Victoria's version of deep fried meat and chives bud dumpling was an absolute delight! I loved the combination of the sweet, chewy dough and savoury pork filling. The deep fried dumpling skin, made from sticky rice, was particularly tasty.

For some reason, I had a strange craving for BBQ Pork buns that day. I never really care for BBQ pork bun when I have dim sum, but this was delicious! The bun was light and fluffy, and the filling was hearty and sweet. I think these buns converted me into liking char siu bao.

For my sweet tooth, I ordered these mini milk pie with papaya, and they were just so darn delicious! These mini delights were topped with a crumbly eggy sugar dough, similar to the top layer of Chinese pineapple buns (菠蘿包). The milk filling was a creamy complement to the pastry. A perfect bite to end the meal.
Casa Victoria Fine Dining and Banquet on Urbanspoon

4 comments:

  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...